6 thoughts on “Evening Twilight, Killbuck Marsh

    1. If this is a rhetorical question, the answer is a simple ‘Thank you, MK’. If not, then there are two answers. I think there is a general consensus (we have a lot of tourists) that our area is beautiful. As far as the photography goes, perhaps the old piece I wrote on Photography several years ago is the best answer…http://thequietway.wordpress.com/2008/01/09/photography/

      In any case, thanks for the comment. 🙂

      1. Not a rhetorical question at all, Mic. I think in a picturesque area, I’d be more likely to come away with several appealing photographs. In a less picturesque spot, I’d have to work a lot harder to make a photo that pleases me. When I shoot, I nearly always have competing agendas — like, I’m walking the dogs, or I’m traveling and have a destination in mind. I don’t often get out with no company except my camera, or no goal except to explore how the light and atmosphere create a scene different from the one 5 minutes earlier or 5 minutes later. I think I’d produce much finer photos if I set aside the time & effort for only that purpose.

        Thanks for pointing me at your brief essay on Photography. I enjoyed it.

      2. Ok. Based on your second and third sentences and my own experience (a sample of two) I will say that idea is fairly common. Maybe our concept of beautifulness and picturesqueness is too narrow. Those qualities are comprised more of our response to a given scene than anything intrinsic in the scene itself anyway. I think most people who make good photographs actually have to work at it and experiment. Maybe the challenge for us should be to go to a boring place and make five satisfying photographs. I think it can be done.

        But taking the photograph is only the first step. Out of the camera, at least for me, the image doesn’t often convey my response to what I saw. So I think you have to work at the processing too.

        I hear people say they don’t believe in manipulating photographs. “They just want what the camera sees!” The truth is that the camera doesn’t see anything. It only records an image based on some algorithm developed by the camera designer or chemical make up of the film. I guess that’s ok if that’s what they want. I like to see what people see…

        Too much verbiage. Make photographs!

      3. I too hope to produce an image that will have the same impact on the viewer that it had on me when I captured the image. Thanks for taking the time to give such a thoughtful response.

      4. Part of the responsibility is the viewer’s. These interactions are very interesting and complex. Have a good week, MK.

Leave a Reply

